Apprenticeships in the Making

I’m in a film!

I was one of the makers chosen to host two apprentices, Chris and Mark, as part of Craftspace’s action research project, ‘Apprenticeships in the Making’. Here’s some information on the project, which I have grabbed from the Craftspace website:

Apprenticeships in the Making was an action research project which took place in the run up to the current Made in the Middle exhibition. The project worked with young people who are not in education, employment or training, to discover and challenge their preconceptions of craft and to introduce them to potential pathways within the sector.

Through a series of taster sessions the participants experienced the skills of three makers from the exhibition, before progressing onto a week long residency. An aim of the project was to provoke the makers to contemplate the implications of taking on an apprentice long term and to consider what support, as sole traders, they would need to make this a viable proposition.

“I hadn’t really considered what a craftsperson did before, but working with Amy has made me realise the skill involved in knitting.” Mark

“My Granddad used to knit, he taught my Dad too. Amy has inspired me; even my Dad has started to knit again.” Chris

Chris has developed a real love for knitting! Instead of commissioning an item of knitwear (the final part of the project), Chris requested a knitting machine – so I sourced and reconditioned a machine for him. Within a couple of weeks of receiving it he’s already knitted several jumpers and is using YouTube and instruction books to learn new techniques. I’m hoping to work with him again in future and look forward to seeing how his making skills develop.

Leave a Reply

