Stitch-hacking and pattern-blagging at Prick Your Finger

Tomorrow I’m off to set up a exhibition of my work at London knitting mecca Prick Your Finger. I’m focusing on stitch-hacking and pattern-blagging, two techniques that I’ve developed over the last couple of years:

Stitch-Hacking the laddering and reconfiguration of stitches in an existing knitted garment

Pattern-Blagging the modification of an existing knitting or crochet pattern to create a personalised item

The techniques are used to adapt existing garments and patterns to include personalised content. On a conceptual level, these pieces explore authorship and ownership; on a personal level, they allow me to put something of myself into my wardrobe.

Here’s a sneak preview of the pieces in the exhibition – though I reckon it’s worth seeing them in the flesh, if you can.

Who Made This?

Found cardigan

Stitch-hacked

This cardigan has particular personal significance, and was the first piece I made in this body of work. The original cardigan was found in my late great-aunt’s house, in a chest of drawers full of hand-knitted cardigans. We think it was knitted by my grandmother (who taught me to knit) but can’t be sure. Who made this cardigan? The original knitter made the stitches, but I laddered and re-formed them.

20.11.09 – 1976

Filet crochet smock

Pattern-blagged

Original pattern published in ‘Knitting, Crochet & Embroidery’ in 1976.

My first pattern-blagged piece. I originally intended to make this piece ‘true to pattern’, but when I came to the first row of the original design (a floral border, created within the filet crochet structure), I rebelled.

Amy 2010

Found cardigan

Stitch-hacked

I acquired this cardigan at some point in the last few years, at a charity shop or perhaps a jumble sale. It languished, unnoticed, in my wardrobe for some time before I heard its call to be hacked.

St Michael – 12 – 40

Found cardigan

Stitch-hacked

All of the information hacked into this St Michael cardigan was taken from the labels inside the garment. The hacking celebrates, and painstakingly brings to the surface, the unremarkable story of its original creation.

1.12.2010 – Lugwardine – Amy – 1.10.2011

Shetland lace shawl

Pattern-blagged

Original pattern ‘The Rosemary Shawl’ designed by Gema Ord for Jamieson & Smith, published in ‘My Weekly’ in 1994.

In September 2010, following my presentation on Stitch-Hacking and Pattern-Blagging at the ‘In The Loop 2’ knitting conference in Shetland, I boldly stated that I would pattern-blag a Shetland lace shawl. Twelve months later, here is the result. My rules: the personal adaptations had to be decided upon during the making process, and constructed spontaneously without sampling.

Want to have a go? I’m running a stitch-hacking workshop at Prick Your Finger on Saturday – enquiries/bookings to the shop on 020 8981 2560.

The exhibition will be on for 6 weeks or so – private view tomorrow from 6pm, all welcome so hope to see you there! (260 Globe Road, E2 0JD, nearest tube: Bethnal Green)

10 responses to “Stitch-hacking and pattern-blagging at Prick Your Finger

  1. Amy, thank you so much for the workshop, I really enjoyed learning new skills. I hope to be able to post a hacked garment soon!

  2. Pingback: Frankly – Stitch Hacking – Amy Twigger Holroyd

  3. Pingback: Workshops: crocheting, stitch-hacking, granny squares | Keep & Share

  4. Lovely post from the Prick Your Finger blog about the exhibition, private view and workshop here: http://www.prickyourfinger.com/blog/2011/10/amy-twigger-holroyds-show/

    Tom – thanks for coming, it was great to meet you and I can’t wait to see what you hack!!

  5. And another post about the stitch-hacking work, from the Folksy blog: http://frankly.folksy.com/2011/10/26/stitch-hacking-amy-twigger-holroyd

  6. Pingback: stitch-hacking and pattern-blagging in london | make handmade, crochet, craft

  7. This is so cool. Can’t wait to try it.

  8. Pingback: 14GB | Keep & Share

  9. Thhis call has tthe same smooth transitions as the Money Maker, Zink’s award winning goose
    call. The affable owner loved horses and even owned a piece of a few nags.
    focus groups) and get into the psychological aspects of product or service
    buying. Using a sharp item, such as a box cutter, steak knife or
    linoleum cutter, etch away the non-inked eraser
    so that all that is left is the raised image that the rubber stamp will impress.
    Pens can be engraved on any part and used to promote a business.
    Barcode content was limited to a few characters due to limited space and the barcodes character-per-inch capacity.

  10. quin     quip     quit     quiz     quod     race     rack     racy.
    Are you looking for a set of Custom Poker Chips, a poker table or other poker supplies.

    The immediate impression when viewing the slab is
    that it is a ‘star map’ that portrays either a solar system or galaxy.
    grandpas grandsir grandson grangers granitas granites granitic
    grannies. The handmade Love Locket hangs off a 14kt gold-filled doubled chain and can be
    customized with a message to the new baby or message from
    Prince William to Kate. galumphs galvanic gamashes
    gambades gambados gambeson gambiers gamblers.

Leave a Reply

